This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Urbino Award

The winner of the Urbino Award (formerly the Urbino Press Award) is announced at the Embassy of Italy in Washington DC. The prize, launched in 2006, is awarded in recognition of excellence in journalism to American reporters who, through their commitment and daily work, conscientiously inform millions of people.

The City of Urbino, which during the Renaissance gave life to one of the most enlightened courts of Europe, symbolically reinstates its court, once enriched by geniuses like Baldassarre Castiglione and Torquato Tasso, with the voice and experience of today’s reporters, the outstanding interpreters of the events that are changing our world.

The winner of the 2023 edition of the Urbino Award is Ellen Nakashima:

nakashima urbino press award

To find out more about past editions, click on the images below:

kube urbino press award   baier urbino press award


Gwen Ifill   Maria Bartiromo


cooper   2010

2009   2008

2007   2006