This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Gianandrea Noseda International Opera Awards Conductor of the Year 2016



Gianandrea Noseda  International Opera Awards Conductor of the Year 2016

On Sunday 15 May 2016 at The Savoy Theatre, London, the winners of the “International Opera Awards” were announced in a ceremony hosted by BBC Radio 3 presenter Petroc Trelawny. Opera stars and supporters gathered for an evening celebrating excellence in opera, as well as raising funds for the Opera Awards Foundation – a trust which aims to help those at the start of their opera careers.

The Jury of the Award, headed by John Allison – Editor of Opera Magazine and music critic for The Daily Telegraph – awarded Gianandrea Noseda the “International Opera Awards” Conductor of the Year 2016. Music Director of the Teatro Regio Torino since 2007, Gianandrea Noseda was nominated alongside distinguished colleagues such as René Jacobs, Vladimir Jurowski, Carlo Rizzi and Christian Thielemann. Past Conductors of the Year have been Semyon Bychkov (2015), Kirill Petrenko (2014) and Sir Antonio Pappano (2013).

The award for Gianandrea Noseda is in part a recognition of the transformative work he has achieved in the course of these years as Music Director of the Teatro Regio Torino, which is considered one of the leading opera companies in the world. He is a regular guest of the Metropolitan Opera House and will make his debut at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in June 2016 with a new production of Il Trovatore in July 2016.

Founded in 2012 in association with Opera Magazine, the “International Opera Awards” have become recognized as the Academy Awards for the international opera world. in addition to conductors, other categories include accessibility, best festival, best production, best male and female singer, best director, best designer. Also of great importance are categories dedicated to young artists.

2016 has been a pivotal year for Maestro Noseda with his recent appointment as Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra (beginning with the 2017/18 season) and Principal Guest Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (starting with the 2016/17 season). He was Musical America’s Conductor of the Year in 2015.